Inching my way back

I’m just gonna sneak back in here and hope no one notices for a while. It’s been a year and a half since my last post, so I assume no one is even checking anymore. Life has changed in a million ways that are hard to even list or put into words. And those questions I was riddling myself with in my last post? Well (most of) those things are either laughable, irrelevant or have long been resolved. We DEFINITELY use the 80 wipes my mom made. And yes, I can manage the cost of health insurance. As far as the daycare questions go – we feel like we won the lottery in that department. Cassidy loves it there and we feel like it’s the best money we’ve ever spent. Generally speaking, it seems most things in the parenting category are falling into place… for now. ๐Ÿ™‚

But… wait for it… I still weigh over 220 pounds. I’ve lost almost zero pounds since the birth. I took all the delicious advice to “eat what you want, you’re eating for two!” and “don’t worry, you’ll lose weight when you breastfeed” and “give yourself a break – you JUST HAD A BABY!” Basically these statements took over my brain, became my new mantra and guess what… Those old eating habits that I spent the better part of my late 20’s and early 30’s undoing came back in full force.

So here I sit. My back hurts, my ankle hurts and my self-confidence is shaky. There are weeks when I maintain a workout plan, and then the excuses take over and convince me to focus on anything BUT physical activity. Or I’ll try cutting back carbs… which just means I eat more meat, and that doesn’t make me feel goodย either. There are days when I track calories, but then I “forget” to do so when pizza becomes an option.

So Sara told me to pick one little thing at a time to change. I spent awhile thinking about that. What can I feasibly change on a daily basis (consistently) to improve my health? Knowing my personality, I know that I need elimination for success. Elimination gives me guidelines that I know I can’t talk myself out of. So this might sound drastic, but I’ve decided to fast until noon every day. I’m five days in, and I kind of love it. My morning appetite and productivity have decreased and increased, respectively. And now I’m inspired to have a healthy lunch to keep my momentum for the day going. I’m also committed to at least 30 minutes a day (for six days a week) of exercise that will make me sweat. I’ve been using the 21 Day Fix workout dvd’s as well as gym classes… and so far so good! Having an option to workout at home makes a huge difference.

My next change will be to further manage my caloric intake, but I’m not quite ready for that yet. Let’s see how these two commitments go for time being.

For any moms out there struggling with (or mastering) the post-baby healthy body game – I’d love to know what your journey has been like. Let’s inspire each other to be the fabulous women we are!

6 thoughts on “Inching my way back

  1. Have I told you lately how proud you make me?!?! You’re beautiful inside and out๐Ÿ˜˜ And an amazing mamma๐Ÿ˜

  2. YAY!!!! Love reading your thoughts, cheering for your victories and commiserating over mama struggles.

    I am recently “trying” really hard to do a salad every day lunch. A hearty salad that i make the night before. The hardest part is remembering / and finding time to pick up the ingredients each week. I am calling it my “salad challenge”. I also downloaded the most fun… daily reminder/ tracker because literally.. I can only handle things one day at a time these days. http://elisejoy.com/make29dec

  3. Ooh I like Ty’s idea! I have committed to jogging 3x a week for 6 months (doing the Couch to 5k plan)… since I only have 4 days a week where it’s possible, it’s helping me stay on track because I don’t keep saying “I’ll do it tomorrow.” Also experimenting with meal planning programs, trying to be veggie-heavy Paleo. Looking forward to nicer weather so we can add in hiking and biking on the weekends!

Leave a Reply

