A new recipe!

I had lunch at Grain & Gristle last week, more as an excuse to visit Sara than out of hunger. And then after not one, but two cups of their soup special, I begged her to get me the recipe for this luxurious yellow magic potion. This soup is changing my life!, I exclaimed over-dramatically. To oblige my food obsession, she asked the chef to come out and give me the deets. And here they are! Enjoy the deets!

Summer Squash Soup

1 large yellow onion, thinly sliced
2 Tbsp butter or olive oil
1 C water
tsp salt
2 C white wine (any flavor)
4 C chicken or veg broth
3-4 lbs. yellow squash and zucchini combo, chopped (do not peel or seed unless they’re big and extra seedy)
3-4 Tbsps heavy cream

In a stock pot, saute onions with butter (or oil) and salt, add water and cook on medium low until onions are soft but not dark.

Add wine and simmer until liquid reduces by half.

Add squash and broth and continue simmer for 20 minutes until squash is soft.

Add cream.

Blend– in batches as to not blast hot soup all over your kitchen. (G&G uses a Vitamix, leaving the soup completely homogeneous and really silky smooth. I used my average blender which does a good enough job for the home cook. Use whatever you got; even an immersion blender would be swell.)

Slightly reheat soup in the stock pot… I like my soup piping HOT.

It’s not much to look at, so I’m including a splash of color from the mani Ty gave me last week:

soup

I also made this yesterday, but we won’t discuss THAT bad decision:

pie

2 thoughts on “A new recipe!

Leave a Reply

