Room for expansion

A new era of the Grateful Apron emerges! This part-time amateur blogger is pregnant! Most of you know this already, but we found out on June 24th that we’re expecting Baby Black (due Valentine’s Day). It’s quite thrilling, really, to have a wee one growing inside me. And honestly, I never thought I’d be healthy or fit enough to get pregnant… and now I’ll be eternally grateful that I, unlike so many other woman, have been blessed with the ability to create this life. When my mind starts to race, I just remind myself that waaaaaaay bigger idiots than us have brought children into this world… everyone just manages. WE will manage. Bring on the chaos, Baby B! 🙂

So let’s talk about hunger. I HAVE NEVER BEEN SO HUNGRY IN MY ENTIRE LIFE. If I go for more than two hours without food, I get so famished and light-headed that I can almost hear my baby screaming for food already. And on days like today, when I go to a spin class, I can pretty much just expect to need food every hour on the hour for the rest of the day. If I don’t adhere to this, I end up slamming a bowl of raisin bran at 3:30 in the morning. It’s silly.

So, what have I been craving: CARBS! I mean, I’ve always loved carbs, but I’ve also been able to manage those urges. Not anymore. Rice, pasta and bread is really what I prefer these days. Meat and veggies unfortunately are of no interest to me… it drives me (and Eli) nuts. But I think some of that is passing. Today for lunch I made a red beans and quinoa bowl with sautĂ©ed veggies and cherry tomatoes from our garden. I added only a little shredded cheese, Greek yogurt and salsa. It was pretty good… not as good as pizza or a burrito, but good enough. I need to eat more meals like this… must eat veggies, like it or not.

image

Ok, time to put one foot in front of the other and embrace this new school year. I’m kicking and screaming. Back to work I go…

3 thoughts on “Room for expansion

Leave a Reply

