I received a text from Carol this morning demanding a blog update. So here I am.

Every single year I go on a Spring bender when I throw most of my healthy decision-making to the wind. It starts in April (my birthday month) and typically comes to a screeching halt right around the time the new school year starts in September. Definitely not the smartest or most sustainable of lifestyle cycles. This past weekend was full of parties (one Derby and two Cinco de Mayos), leaving me with a three pound weight gain from the week before.

With Eli’s help, we’ve put together a lot of healthy meal and activity plans to reverse the [temporary] damage done. Last night we had salmon burgers on homemade slaw, the perfect detox meal. And even though I didn’t take many picture at the parties, I do have a few from past weeks…

Dinner Club, Indian style! (My dish is not pictured, but you can find the recipe I used for Roasted Eggplant Dip – Baingan Bharta right here!

image

Last week Eli joined me on a work trip to Eugene, and we toured Brownsville on our way back. If you’re unfamiliar (like I was), this is where the movie Stand By Me was filmed in the eighties, and this original public art was painted specifically for the production  (We may or may not have done a totally dorky but totally awesome walking tour of SBM movie attractions. You should really visit B’ville ASAP… and DO NOT skip their historical museum that is housed in three different train boxcars and features one of only three remaining Oregon Trail Wagons. Just so awesome!!)

image

On that same trip we hiked [scrambled] to the top of Spencer Butte. I was a wee wobbly after that.

image

And last but not least, my own version of the Basil Bowl! I made a cashew-basil sauce with my Nutribullet(!!!) and poured it over a hot mess of rice, greens, chopped veggies and other things I can’t remember.

image

And if you’re a gobbler like I am, don’t forget, CHOPSTICKS SLOW YOU DOWN! 🙂

Leave a Reply

