crying into my chicken soup

Well not really… but I wanted to!

You know when you go to the doctor and she asks why you’ve gained so much weight recently? Yeah, that’s what happened today after I weighed in at 193 pounds during my appointment. Talk about a depressing reality check.

Both my food addiction and appetite are in full swing these days, and I’m trying to take some deep breaths today to evaluate what my best plan of attack should be. (Do I even have the mental strength right now to take on such an attack?) So far I’m thinking I need to cut out alcohol all together. Not only is it a waste of calories, but it really inhibits my ability to manage my food intake. And last year when I was doing the hyper-calculated Medifast diet, I definitely attributed my stamina and discipline to the no-drinking policy.

Even with all the extra baggage, I’m so happy to say that exercise is still a big part of my routine, and my ankle feels strong as ever. Eli and I went on a five mile coastal hike yesterday, requiring only a few ibuprofen to rebound from. I count that as a major positive, something to be extremely grateful for!

halfway to Cape Falcon

halfway to Cape Falcon

The views were just spectacular. And it was warm(ish) and sunny! As for post-hike snacks, we had Cesar chicken wraps made from a chicken I roasted on Friday night. And that same chicken was the base for the soup I made tonight. You will like, I promise.

Lemon Chicken Soup with Quinoa

makes 6 large bowls of soup

Ingredients
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 cups sliced carrots
1 cup chopped sweet potato
2 cups sliced celery
1/2 cup chopped onion (optional)
10 cups chicken broth
1 lb chopped boneless skinless cooked chicken breast
1/2 cup quinoa , rinsed
6 tablespoons lemon juice (about 3 lemons)
1 T dried tarragon
pinch red pepper flakes
4 cups chopped fresh kale
1. In a large pot over medium heat, cook the carrots, sweet potato, celery and onion in the olive oil for about 7 minutes. Add chicken broth, chicken, quinoa, lemon juice, tarragon and red pepper flakes. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer until quinoa is tender, 20 minutes.
2. Add kale and cook until tender.
8 thoughts on “crying into my chicken soup

  1. Kelly, I know that weight gain isn’t good but with your will power and determination you will lose what you have gain. Love you and very proud of very thing you have accomplished.

  2. You’re awesome, Kel!
    I think I’m going to try a veggie version of that soup- sounds tasty.
    I was actually just thinking about doing some sort of 30-day-challenge for myself; hadn’t thought it out completely yet, but perhaps it could be something along the lines of no alcohol, no sweets, yaddi-yadda, for 30 days? Any interest in joining me?

      • right! Start today? I do have to have one cheat day though- I’m making desserts for Josie’s baby shower- quality control, ya know.

        I’ll even put a prize package in the mail for you if you complete the challenge!

    • start today! you know i’m going to take a cheat day, too, right? 🙂 i’m going to denver early march, and i’ll be needing a warm up cocktail in vali. no doubt about it. excited to swap congratulatory packages with you at the end!

  3. Proud of you Kelly, and know you’ll get that number down in a healthy, sustainable way. It’s a journey and your journey is filled with so many wonderful things. Rock on!

Leave a Reply

