Danish Meatballs

Lindsay and I are about to head to Dinner Club (she is hastily finishing up her German potato salad at the moment). Tonight’s theme is “Food from your Heritage.” As badly as I want to take Wisconsin-style squeaky cheese, I ended up making this Danish appetizer instead. I’d like to think my Grandpa would have been proud of my research mission. Did you know nearly every Danish family has its own personalized meatball recipe? Neither did I. In all honestly though, after learning of the smoked fish dishes and other strange concoctions of my people, I can’t say that eating my way through Denmark is on my bucket list.

These turned out great though, and can be a perfect make-ahead finger food for your holiday party. I’m serving them with Ikea’s Lingonberry sauce in mini cupcake wrappers.

High fives to all my Danish peeps out there!

Danish Meatballs:

1 pound ground beef, pork and veal
1 small onion, peeled and grated, about 1/2 cup
1/2 cup superfine breadcrumbs
Salt and pepper
About 1/8 teaspoon grated nutmeg
1 teaspoon dried marjoram, lightly crushed in your palm
2 organic eggs, beaten
About 1/2 to 2/3 cup whole milk
6 tablespoons butter, divided

Preheat oven to 400°F.

Combine meat with onion, breadcrumbs, salt, pepper, nutmeg, marjoram, eggs and milk.

Melt 4 tablespoons butter in a small pot and use it to butter a large baking sheet. Using a small scoop, roll about 36 walnut-sized meatballs. Arrange snugly on the baking sheet and brush with remaining melted butter, roast 15 minutes or until cooked through.

One thought on “Danish Meatballs

Leave a Reply

