Happy Harvest!

Let’s all welcome the first Fall 2012 post of the Grateful Apron blog!

I was lucky enough to see many of you during my vacation this summer and was touched by all the encouragement to jumpstart my blog again. Of course I have excuses of distractions, travel, limited computer access, limited wifi access, etc, but who wants to read about that? Not me. I slacked. I gained weight. And I had a blast doing it!

And because a healthy life (for me, at least) is supported best by balance, it is time to redirect more of my energy to my own self care.

This time of year usually has an interesting effect on me. Work starts and so does the accompanied anxiety. But I also fall into more of a suitable routine that forces me to do other things besides just having fun for 90% of the day (remember how bad I am with free time?). So along with the nerves comes a refreshing sense of satisfaction and focus. Oh, and of course, it also brings one of my very favorite foods: Tomatoes!!!

One of the local farm stands (Kruger’s) is currently selling heirlooms for $2/pound, and I can’t buy or eat them fast enough.

Last night’s tomato feast at sunset under the St. Johns bridge:

BAST’s! Pepper bacon, arugula, salami, tomato – Served on cracked wheat sourdough with basil mayo.

And here’s one from Labor Day on Laurance Lake on Mt. Hood (everyone, please say hi to Eli!)

Goals for today: Spin class, WORK(!), try to manage out-of-control appetite (gotta start somewhere)…

***How was YOUR summer? What did you eat? Where did you go? Favorite new recipes, workouts or workout music we should all know about?***

10 thoughts on “Happy Harvest!

  1. Um… I think I need the Pepper bacon sandwich.. WHOA! Since you asked… here was our go-to summer meal. Tostadas spread with beans, topped with baby kale, olives, onions, sometimes shredded chicken (and a little cheese). All easy things to keep on hand (don’t go bad quickly) and Harper loves them. I think we all ate massive amounts of “mini mexican pizzas” this summer!

  2. Happy to see this blog rockin again– Missed you!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve been obsessed with quesadillas for a month or more now- heavy on the beans, lite on the cheese, and topped with mucho homemade salsa. (Our tomato season is just ending here.) They take like, 3 minutes to make. Perfect meal, in my book. And, frying them up in just a bit of vegetable oil makes them seem so decadent!

    Also, I’ve been into the Jillian Michaels 30 day shred DVD; Workouts are only 20ish minutes long, and they definitely are helping me tone up a bit.

  3. Hi Kel! So good to catch up a few weeks ago, and it is great to see what is happening with you again on your blog!

    My summer diet has consisted of sausages from all sorts of different butcher shops around wisconsin. which is probably why i now look like a sausage! it was totally worth it. grilled fish was also a staple–from trout to salmon. jay is a grill wizard and i try to steer to fish and veggies and he steers towards meat and potatoes. the difference is that he is on his feet all day moving around and lifting heavy things and i sit in my office!

    i start my extreme bodyshaping in about 2 weeks, I’m pumped for it. i have been timing myself running the mile, which is what i will be required to do on my first day, and it is going ok so far. that is just the beginning though. i’m hoping to have some awesome gym beats to share once the kickboxing/yoga/extreme torture commences.

Leave a Reply

