Ten years!?

One entire decade ago from today I snapped my ankle in half. Lots of pounds falling on lots of ice in the middle of the night in a bad neighborhood with a dying cell phone. The EMT’s were small women and couldn’t lift me off the ground; not my finest moment. In fact, I’d probably say that day was the worst in my life. And then a confusing few years followed. Why does it still hurt? Why does it look this? Will I ever walk normally again? After a few rounds of self pity, I started swimming everyday, marking my first phase of weight loss. It’s been a roller coaster ride ever since!

Not sure it’s possible to thank my support system enough for the endless love and concern for this injury. Chronic pain and immobility can be extremely lonely and depressing, but over the past ten years I never felt isolated or alone. Thank you all so much.

Sometimes when I lose perspective on what I’m trying to accomplish, I just remind myself that less pounds means a happier ankle.

I posted this two years ago:

8th Anniversary

Today:

10th Anniversary

At least the foot is getting smaller even if the ankle isn’t! Did you know you go down in shoe size when you lose weight? Did you know my feet are two different sizes because of the injury? I’ll never be the girl who enjoys shoe shopping!

Gratitude moment: Talking to my Dad last night about our bone and joint injuries. Now we can laugh about them and walk at least a mile a day without too much pain. Life is crazy good.

9 thoughts on “Ten years!?

  1. I just want to cry when I think of that horrible call in the middle of the night! We had no idea what you were actually going through!! But we finally got to Minneapolis. It was a terribly dark time… you were in so much pain… and then you were so sad… It broke my heart to see you like that. But what amazing progress you’ve made… in so many many parts of your life!! We’re so proud of the way you’ve handled everything. Love you always.

  2. i was going to say the same as breezy, same polish on those beautiful toes. kel you have been through so much and have become a more beautiful woman because of it. just wanted to let you know again how proud i am of what you have done over the years. you have always been a beautiful lady inside and out. keep up the great work you have been doing. God Bless You. and i love you

  3. cajun shrimp!!! you two. love you and cant wait to get there. sorry i missed your call kel. Closure with the beacon ladies in 10. will talk soon…loves from violet and I

Leave a Reply

