Crab Cakes

Craziest thing happened. I posted about the virtues of tea, and about ten minutes later found myself wheezing with a deep-lung chest cough. Consequently, I spent the next four days drinking more tea than I thought humanly possible while propped upright in bed, immersed in The Girl with Dragon Tattoo.

Finishing that book was my greatest accomplishment since we last saw each other. I barely cooked, barely moved, canceled nearly every plan I had and seem to have stagnated in weight loss. Man, doing nothing really doesn’t do this body of mine any favors. Regardless, I’ve stuck to the Medifast plan and have been certainly enjoying the byproduct of more money and much, much less guilt. In fact, I never feel guilty anymore! It’s fabulous!

Since you’ve been so patient with me and my lazy photography skills (I do realize how inappropriate it is to blog camera phone pics, by the way), I decided today is the day to dust off the Nikon and create a new recipe.

Crab Cakes with Brussel Sprouts

I went the cheap (and easy) route with canned crab.

Mix crab with a 2 egg whites, 1/4 chopped/sautéed jalapeno, some lime zest and bit of juice, 2 chopped scallions, 2 tsp vegan (or real) mayo, salt, pepper and hot sauce.

Let the mix sit and saute up some slice brussel sprouts in cooking spray and apple cider vinegar and salt/pepper:

Pan fry crab cakes on medium/high, a few minutes on each side.

Throw them together with a bit of salsa!

I can not fully express the love I have for the jalapeno-lime-scallion combo. Spice is nice when you’re trying to kill the demons inside your throat and lungs.

Tomorrow I leave for the coast, so weigh-in is on Friday.

And one more thing — Congrats to two of my most favorite people — Jamie Aspenson and Jesse Steadman are engaged! Let the wedding planning begin! Love you guys 🙂

2 thoughts on “Crab Cakes

Leave a Reply

