Mt. Tabor: 1, Kelly: 0

I tried, I really did! With the incessant sunshine this week, I’ve really been favoring bike rides over the gym, because fresh air exercise is way better than driving through rush hour to workout in that box of hamster wheels. Some of you may remember last summer when I walked Lucy up and down Mt. Tabor a few times a week (and Anna and I would run stairs there, too…). Today I attempted to bike from my apartment all the way to top, which is a pretty reasonable climb the entire 60+ blocks to the base of the park. Once I made it there, my actual accent was foiled about halfway up when I started rolling backwards. Like I told Sara, it’s been a long time since I’ve done any physical activity to the point of failure, so I’m going to count this “project” as progress. I’ll let you know how far I make it up next time! For now, though, I’m going to bed with some really sore quads. I love that!

Most demoralizing moment of the ride up: A couple in their sixties cruised by me and said, “Keep it up, you’re almost there!” I was NOT almost there… Frustration:

A beautiful tree in the sun on the ride there:

My plan for this week was to begin a less rowdy, more healthy and balanced style of life. The birthday fun was a little all consuming. Now it’s time to grow up, right?! I did the only thing I know how to do with this must-make-good-decisions mentality: Cook healthy food.

Sunday: Spinach/feta turkey burgers and salad

Monday: Mini pita pizzas and salad

Tonight: Quinoa stuffed acorn squash and salad

Off to the coast tomorrow for work! Must not forget the camera.

4 thoughts on “Mt. Tabor: 1, Kelly: 0

Leave a Reply

