His and Hers Enchiladas

Hey friends! It’s me, Jaime. I offered to do a guest blog post for Kelly a couple weeks ago, but it took me awhile to cook a meal I could really brag about. I’ve been obsessed with yams for the last couple months. I do nothing interesting with them; I just cube and roast. As the weather has warmed up, I’m over yams, and now, it is red enchilada sauce I crave. I am no good at food photography, so here’s a cute boy instead:

As for the enchiladas:

Blanch some broccoli.
Mix broccoli with one can of rinsed & drained black beans.
Add any other vegetables you have laying around, such as mushrooms and zucchini.
Add 3/4 of a small can red enchilada sauce (enough so the mixture is saucy, but not too liquidy).
Sprinkle in a little shredded cheese.

Now you have the filling I used for the “Her’s” portion of the enchiladas. I heated up some whole wheat tortillas before filling them and placing them in a baking dish.

To make the “His” portion, just add more cheese and some meat to the filling, and continue heating, stuffing, and rolling tortillas.

Pour the remaining enchilada sauce on top of everything, and sprinkle cheese on the “His” enchiladas, so you can tell the difference!

Add some chopped green onion for the ultimate garnish.

You may wonder why I would do His and Hers meals?  After some online calorie calculations, Will and I discovered that he needs 1000 more calories per day than I!

6 thoughts on “His and Hers Enchiladas

  1. Jaime! Love this! And don’t worry, when I make this dish, which I can’t do fast enough, I’ll take pics and post them 🙂

    Thank you for reminding of us of yet another way men and women are totally different. That’s a major calorie discrepancy!

    Love you, lady!

  2. Jaime!!!!! I’m a huge fan of the guest appearance. Miss you guys. Hi Axel…Come home and meet your friend Violet soon please!

Leave a Reply

