Weigh-in Wednesday

Down 1/2 pound! Count it!

Today sure was long, wasn’t it? Anyone else giddy with the prospect of crawling into bed before 9pm with a book and Ibuprofen PM? This Wednesday night certainly has my name all over it.

After seemingly hours and hours of work, I was able to attend one of my favorite Spin classes of the week. The instructor (Brandy) and her music are all the motivation I need to stay on that dang bike for an entire hour… success!

With all the positive momentum of the day, a healthy meal was pretty mandatory. I chose an Isa favorite from Veganomicon. Roasted Protobello Mushroom Salad with Chickpeas:

(Sara’s letting me borrow her fancy lens! Remember when I broke mine on Halloween night? Bah.)

I posted this recipe over a year ago, but here it is again. This is the perfect meal when you’re having meat-eater’s remorse. We know my thoughts on mushrooms… best food ever.

Salad: Mixed greens, avocado, sliced red onion and a drained can of chickpeas.

Dressing: 1/4 C spicy mustard, 3 T olive oil, 1/4 C red wine vinegar, 2 TBSP maple syrup

Marinade for mushrooms: 1/2 C cooking wine, 1 TBSP olive oil, 2 TBSP soy sauce, 2 TBSP balsamic vinegar, 2 minced garlic cloves, chopped basil (optional)

Mix marinade ingredients. Marinate two mushroom caps in the mixture for 20 minutes. Bake mushrooms, covered with foil, in a pan for 20 minutes at 400 degrees. Remove foil, flip mushrooms, bake for 10 more minutes.

6 thoughts on “Weigh-in Wednesday

  1. sabOtage…that is!!! In any case… I promise I WON’T bake cookies or anything like that;)
    And dad won’t make BEEF every other night!;) Just so excited to have you both home!!

  2. Alright alright.. lets take it easy on all these promises. A girls gotta eat!! Devils food Cake with White fluffy frosting. Kelly, Don’t ruin this for me!

    • Ha! Are you sure you wouldn’t rather have spinach instead?! Obviously I’m filling up on salads this week to prepare for the cake/pizza/roadhouse/dad’s-cooking/mom’s-baking situation I’m launching myself into next week. Please, we only turn 26, 30 and 60 once! LOVES!!!!

      • yeah Honestly, no one goes to Ripon thinking that they are going to leave lighter than they started! It’s the golden. go big!

Leave a Reply

