sorry i’ve been such a bad blogger

Before I get carried away, check out this adorbs pic I just got of Violet (caption reads: I woke up just so I could say goodnight to my Auntie Kelly.) Ahh!

I feel better! Finally! Today is the first day I’ve felt over 95% healthy in over a week, and while I managed workouts three of the last four days, today was my first day of 60 full minutes of cardio exercise at the gym (Chrisanthi spin!).

As you know, I typically weigh in on Wednesdays (skipped last week due to illness), but this week I can’t go because I’ll be traveling that day… So no time like the present to face up to seven full days of absolutely no exercise. SCARY! Good news though! I stayed the same! And while I usually stay the same, I actually consider this a huge victory this week. What a great way to kick off a healthy week of work travel and lots of exercise.

Another positive note: I stayed for the meeting for the first time in months. (Keri told me, too :)) It was quite an inspiring experience, as many Lifetime members were there discussing their weight loss journey, how they reached their goals, and how they’ve kept the weight off for so many years. Unfortunately I know what it’s like to gain back a lot of weight, and now I’m so terrified of it that my natural instincts have changed to protect me from that happening again. Oh, and someone was talking about the power of 0 Point veggie soup at the meeting, so I decided to get on that train. Mark Bittman, (New York Times food editor) to the rescue!

*The parsley/white bean/tomato paste combo is what makes this soup so darn tasty. MAKE IT STAT!!
**I omitted the celery … it was $4!! Also, I added mushrooms and green beans. Oh, and you don’t need nearly that much olive oil.
***In this case, no picture would be more effective than this crappy one, but here it is anyway. Served with a corn tortilla cheese quesadilla:

From his book Food Matters:

* 3/4 cup olive oil, more or less
* 2 onions, peeled and chopped
* 2 carrots, peeled and chopped
* 2 celery stalks, peeled and chopped
* Salt and freshly ground black pepper
* 1 bunch parsley, washed and chopped, thick stems discarded
* 2 or 3 cabbage leaves, chopped
* 1 bunch chard, preferably white, washed and chopped
* 1/4 cup tomato paste
* 3 to 4 cups cooked white beans, like cannelloni, with their liquid if possible

Preparation

Put about a third of the olive oil in the bottom of a deep pot and turn the heat to medium.

Add half the onion, carrot and celery and cook, stirring occasionally, until they soften, which takes about 10 minutes.

Add about half of the remaining oil and repeat the process, seasoning with salt and pepper as you go.

Add the remaining oil with the parsley, cabbage and chard and cook, stirring occasionally, until everything is softened but not browned.

Add the tomato paste and stir.

Mash the beans so that they’re about half mashed and half more-or-less whole. Add this mixture to the pot, along with any bean cooking liquid and enough water to make the whole mixture stewy but not watery.

Continue cooking, tasting and adjusting the seasoning as necessary, until all the vegetables are very tender and the soup is hot. Serve hot or warm.
Serving Size

Makes about 10 servings

One thought on “sorry i’ve been such a bad blogger

Leave a Reply

