Breaking in the kitchen

I was thinking to myself, ‘What’s the best way to feel at home in a new place?’ By making three meals at once? Sure thing!

Sara and Mandy (my new neighbors… lucky me!) came over for a food frenzy this evening. I cranked out some homemade pasta (to be eaten tomorrow… with meatballs… stay tuned) and made an apple crisp while Mandy peeled apples and made us veggie tacos for tonight’s dinner. Sara brought wine, her photography skills, and general good looks and sassy wit.

First, the pasta. It really impresses me how two ingredients can make something so extraordinary. Eggs and flour, and maybe a splash of water… how crazy is that?

Make a well with two cups of flour, crack two eggs in the center, scramble eggs while incorporating flour:

Knead dough for 3-4 minutes until:

Chill dough for at least 20 minutes and cut into eight smaller pieces for rolling. The pasta maker and I got along much better this time, mainly because I avoided the ravioli attachment. Spaghetti all the way:

Drying:

Finale!

While all of this was happening, Mando was making black beans and cabbage for tonight’s meal:

And the apple-cran crisp for dessert (made it up, didn’t measure anything, sorry!):

Workout: Jillian cardio dvd. Wow, it’s been awhile since I’ve hung out with her… my ankle hurts and so will other things tomorrow I’m sure. Yay.

One thought on “Breaking in the kitchen

Leave a Reply

