Two meals, lotsa meat

What constitutes too much meat for one day? Perhaps my consumption today of pork, chicken, turkey, and beef will appear somewhat inappropriate. No matter though, because it was all so good. Worth every bite!

The meat fest started at the PSU food carts downtown this afternoon. Megs met me on my lunch break… She had bahn mi, a Vietnamese baguette sandwich, and I had a trio of tacos. We shared both, making for a very ethnically diverse meal.

Looking beautiful while choosing the best cart:

Vietexican delight:

Have I mentioned my obsession for taco trucks?

Once the lunch settled, it was time to make meatballs (my first ever!) for dinner. I found a recipe from the New York Times online that called for both turkey and pork.

I followed the recipe pretty closely (minus the cumin and nutmeg) and made my own tomato sauce in the oil I pan fried the meatballs in. The sauce starts with onion and garlic, and then I just added some canned marinara and canned tomatoes. Throw the browned meatballs back in the sauce and simmer.

I ferried the final product over to Mandy’s where we served them on spaghetti. Dare I say that I’m looking forward to the upcoming winter cooking months?

For the meatballs:

* 3/4 pound lean ground turkey
* 3/4 pound lean ground pork
* 2 teaspoons olive oil
* 1/2 cup finely chopped onions
* 1 teaspoon finely chopped garlic
* 1/2 cup fresh, fine bread crumbs
* 1/4 cup milk
* 1 egg, beaten
* 1/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
* 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
* Salt and freshly ground pepper to taste
* 2 tablespoons finely chopped parsley

Preparation

1. Combine the turkey and pork in a mixing bowl.
2. Heat 1 teaspoon of the olive oil in a saucepan. Add the onions and garlic; cook briefly until wilted. Set aside.
3. Combine the bread crumbs and milk in a large bowl. Add the meat, onions and garlic, and the egg, nutmeg, cumin, salt, pepper and parsley. Blend well.
4. Shape the meat into 24 or more meatballs.
5. Pan fry in olive oil.
6. Add to your sauce and simmer until cooked through.

(Oh yeah, the workout… 45 minute spin)

3 thoughts on “Two meals, lotsa meat

    • Who knows. Probably something gross on my camera lens. I need a new lens cap immediately so I can stop offending my fellow diners with fake blemishes. You look stunning, regardless!

      • Well that seems reasonable. I was afraid I was walking around with a big thing on my face and no one told me! Maybe that’s just my OCD talking, though šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

