Weigh-in Wednesday

Really happy to have Keri with me today to witness my HALF POUND LOSS!!! We gave me a pep talk on the way there about feeling healthy and not taking the scale too seriously. Even so, I was glad to walk away with a sense of greater strength and accomplishment. I’m within 1/2 pound of my lowest weight ever… life is good.

Exercise today: Lots of walking (to the gym, around the ‘hood with Ker, to WW, out with Molly and Dad) and 50 minutes of sweaty spinning at the gym.

Soundtrack today: The Minneap band, Lookbook, who was recommended by my pal Robyn. If you dig synth pop and strong chick vocals, then get down with their song “The Only Ones” during your next workout. I downloaded the entire album Wild at Heart and am totally hooked. (I definitely recommend this for Missy and Megan 🙂 )

New recipe time! This one came from a really rad fancy Italian cookbook I found in Jesse and Jamie’s collection.

Asparagus and Mushroom Salad (my modification)

2 bunches asparagus, cut into bite sized pieces
4 small or 2 large portabello mushrooms (scales removed), cut into bite sized pieces
1/2 cup canola oil (or whatever you’ve got)
3/8 cup rice wine vinegar
1/4 cup dijon mustard
small handful of chopped parsley
Shaved fresh parmesan cheese

Blanch asparagus and put in bowl with mushrooms

Whisk remaining ingredients (sans cheese) and toss with veggies.

Garnish with shaved cheese and salt and pepper if necessary.

Easy and healthy, like lunch should be.

And one more of the littlest girl:

2 thoughts on “Weigh-in Wednesday

  1. Love reading about your adventures! I always say to Dave,”She has such a cool life!” Just printed out two copies of this asparagus recipe – one for me and the other for my officemate 🙂

  2. yes! this pic! the best!
    oh, and scott knows lookbook. 😉
    they just played in portland. apparently they are wonderful people.

Leave a Reply

