Dodging Traffic

My activity level has skyrocketed over the past 24 hours as I’ve taken up biking… it feels so great to actually exercise outside! I was all over town last night and biked to and from the gym this morning (25 minutes one way).

New helmet!

Workout: 30 minutes elliptical, 7 minutes abs/pilates, biceps, shoulders and some boxing
Soundtrack: The Donkeys’ album Living on the Other Side

When I was cleaning the other day, I found an old copy of Vegetarian Times that inspired me to pick out a couple new recipes to try. Today’s was a huge success, and also freezable, so I have healthy meals available in an instant.

Tempeh-Oatmeal Loaf

(I modified this a bit. I made mini loafs by using a cupcake tin, which is great for portion control. The original recipe calls for marinara, but I swapped that for BBQ sauce… even better!)

Prepping with sauce before baking:

A quick photo before I inhaled the entire plate (served with arugula):

8 oz. package tempeh, cubed
2 cups oats
1/4 tsp thyme
oil for frying
1 cup chopped onion
2 tsp minced garlic
2 tsp oregano
1 tsp basil
1 can (14 oz) diced tomatoes, undrained
3/4 tsp vinegar
3/4 tsp sugar
3/4 tsp baking powder
salt & pepper to taste
BBQ sauce

1. Preheat oven to 350. Meanwhile, bring 1/2 cups oats, thyme, & 1 cup water to boil in small saucepan. Cook until oatmeal is thick; set aside.
2. Heat oil in large skillet; saute onion & garlic. Add oregano, basil, & tomatoes; crumble tempeh into mixture & stir in vinegar, sugar, salt & pepper. Transfer mixture to large bowl & stir in remaining 1 1/2 cups oats & baking powder. (I food processed all of this together.)
3. Press mixture into oiled cupcake pan, and spread bbq sauce over top of each. Bake 45 minutes or so.

146 calories per mini loaf
5 g fat
3 g fiber
7 g protein

Leave a Reply

