Day 3

Everything got accomplished today! What a fantastic feeling. I’m so excited for weigh-in tomorrow night; I’m expecting great results, and I haven’t felt this confident in a long time.

Vegan-Week update: I’m loving it! The thing I like most about this is having restrictions. By removing such a large group of food from my diet, I actually have less to think (and stress) about. The food voices in my head don’t have as much to chat about right now… a side effect I was not anticipating! And tomorrow night I get to eat vegan pizza at my fave spot in Eugene: Pizza Research Institute. I’m giddy with excitement.

Dinner tonight was a light and healthy group effort… perfect for a Tuesday. Hot-sauce glazed baked tofu, coconut rice and a bottomless salad.

Hot-sauce tofu (from Veganomicon):

1 or 2 packages firm tofu, pressed, cut into ‘cutlets’
1/2 cup dry white wine
1/4 cup hot sauce (I used Cholula)
2 T olive oil
2 T soy sauce
3 T fresh lemon juice
2 cloves crushed garlic
1 t cumin
1/2 t oregeno
1/8 t cayenne

Mix the marinade, pour in baking baking pan, marinate tofu in fridge for at least an hour (flip half way)

Bake at 475 degrees for 45 minutes, flipping every 15 minutes

Served with:

Coconut Rice (from Martha’s Living mag)

Serves 4

1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
1/2 cup finely shredded unsweetened coconut
1 cup basmati rice
2 cups water
3/4 teaspoon coarse salt
2 scallions, thinly sliced on the bias

Heat oil in a saucepan over medium heat. Cook coconut, stirring, until golden brown, about 6 minutes.

Set aside 2 tablespoons coconut. Stir rice into pan with remaining coconut. Add water and salt, and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer, covered, until water is absorbed and rice is tender, about 20 minutes.

Garnish with reserved coconut and the scallions.

Before:

Final plate:

And Kaitlyn surprised us with these Isa specialties, Vegan Jelly Roll Cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

