Lentil Salad

Jaime brought up a good point about planning for a vegan diet. Honestly, I haven’t spent much extra time thinking about food over the past two days. (Although I’m not sure it’s possible for me to think about food anymore than I already do.) My food supplies border on vegan as it is, so it’s easy for me to fill a wrap with veggies (sweet potatoes, spinach, squash, etc), put some peanut butter on a carrot or banana, or drink a glass of almond or soy milk. My road snacks are usually string cheese and yogurt, though, so I did have to go to the produce market to pick up fruit for my drive time this week. The biggest surprise so far in reading ingredient labels is the amount of chemicals in some of the foods I typically eat (my granola bars, for example). I think Michael Pollan said “If you can’t say it, don’t eat it.” Scary.

Ok, on to food we can all pronounce! Isa’s Lentil Salad!

(I served this on two mini pitas with sliced and roasted Delicata squash on the side.)

Lentil Salad

4 cups vegetable broth
2 sprigs thyme (I used fresh, chopped finely)
2 bay leaves
2 garlic cloves minced
1/2 teaspoon dried tarragon (this is the secret ingredient!)
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup uncooked french lentils
1/2 cup finely chopped red onion
1 small tomato seeded and chopped
2 radishes, grated
1 small carrot, grated

Dressing:
3 tablespoons olive oil
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
1 clove garlic, chopped finely

Boil: Broth, thyme bay leaves, garlic, tarragon and salt

Add lentils, cook partially covered for 20-30 minutes (lentils should be soft but still hold their shape)

Drain lentils, let cool, remove bay leave

Mix lentils, chopped veggies and dressing together.

Salt and pepper to taste

EAT the awesomeness you just made.

Leave a Reply

