Weight Watchers and pizza, a perfect match

Best day! So happy!

Exactly what I was hoping for: I maintained my weight loss from last week and stayed the same. The WW meeting was rowdy and full of laughter… such a great way to spend a half hour. One of my fellow meeting-goers hit his 80 pound goal tonight, leaving me totally inspired. I love that feeling!

And then….. PIZZA! I know the other night I said mushrooms are my favorite food, but that was a lie. My favorite food is really pizza. There is no type of pizza I do not like. Thick crust? Yes. Thin? Yes. Wood fired? Grilled? English muffin or pita style? YES. I like the Lean Cuisine pizzas as well as Hot Pocket pizzas. Roadhouse, Pizza Hut, Apizza Scholl’s, PRI, and Papa Mandy’s are all amazing. As for toppings? Anything goes. The best I’ve probably ever had was at Roberta’s in Brooklyn, around the corner from Jesse’s apartment, where they grow their veggies on the roof and put radishes on their pies. Wild flavor, just wild.

With that being said, I owe a huge thanks to Amanda for feeding me fabulous pizza tonight after a long day without much food. She used Jamie A’s focaccia recipe for the crust, which made enough for both concoctions: Feta/olives/artichoke hearts and tomato/cheddar/basil. Maybe I ate four squares, two of each. Irresistible.

Salad, topped with the same mustard vinaigrette I made the other night:

No pizza cutter in da house:

Get it, Mark:

Amanda’s beautiful besties (Lindsay, Dana, Kristen):



And here she is, foolishly calculating the calories of the pizza we just slammed:

And FINALLY, Jamie’s Focaccia Recipe! (I’m cutting and pasting it from the email… thanks ladies!)

1 package instant yeast
1 tbsp salt
1 1/2 cups warm water

In a bowl mix all this up with your hands until yeast is dissolved.

In another bowl measure out 4-5 cups flour
slowly add water/yeast mixture until well blended (your hands work best for this too). You’ll probably have to add more warm water. The dough should be wet and sticky, much more so than regular bread dough. If you don’t have a really big bowl, I would split it into two different ones to rise. Cover, place in a warm place and allow to rise for 4-5 hours.

Then, if you want to use it for pizza crust:
Spray or oil the pan you want to cook it on. Put some oil on your hands and a little on the dough too. Spread dough out onto cookie sheets. Drizzle more olive oil on top, and add black pepper, salt and oregano to your liking. This amount of dough made two crusts on cookie sheets.

If you want it for bread:
You may have to split it into three part. Still spread it onto a cookie sheet as above, but after adding spices, fold or roll up. Jill baked hers in a large oven-proof bowl, but I would imagine you could use a bread pan or something similar.

Bake either at 425, the crust for 25-30 minutes. And I really don’t remember for the bread, but probably 30-45 minutes?

3 thoughts on “Weight Watchers and pizza, a perfect match

  1. This looks beautiful! And delicious. But, as much as I would love to take credit for this amazing Italian focaccia, I cannot. The recipe came from my dear friend Jill’s Auntie Dodo. Either way, its amazing, and I’m glad it’s been passed on. Love and miss you ladies!

  2. omg that photo of linsday, spoon midair, is AMAZING. yes, it’s a good camera, but you, my dear, are quickly becoming a pro.

  3. FYI, if you are going to make the focaccia bread and like making it as thin as the pizza crust, probably cook it for 5-10 minutes less than the pizza, not more. Or your focaccia will be extra crispy and still delicious instead of chewy and delicious. Just a tip. Also, the edges might burn like mine did last night 🙂
    Jamie, Mark is seriously indebted to you for passing this recipe on. You can see him trying to get out his profuse thank-yous as he stuffs his mouth with the pizza, just look closely.

Leave a Reply

